Details of the Organization

NameThe Association of Southeast Asian Nations
Organization TypeGovernmental
Disability TypeCross-disability
AddressThe ASEAN Secretariat ยท 70A Jl. Sisingamangaraja ยท Jakarta 12110 ยท Indonesia
Telephone(6221) 7262991, 7243372
Fax(6221) 7398234, 7243504
Contact Person
Brief Introduction

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Brunei Darussalam then joined on 8 January 1984, Viet Nam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN.

Last Updated15/7/2010

Last modified: Friday, 07 February 2014 06:02:32 Valid XHTML 1.1